UKCD Division of Periodontology Introduces Dr. Sam Jasper Periodontal Award

Begin Date: 
Tuesday, October 6, 2020 - 1:00pm

The Sam Jasper Periodontal Award was created in recognition of Dr. Jasper’s many contributions to clinical care and education in periodontology. During his 39 years of service in the Division of Periodontology at the University of Kentucky College of Dentistry (UKCD), Dr. Jasper remained dedicated to the many students he taught and to the idea of increasing student exposure to the field of periodontology. The goal of this award is to recognize a UKCD dental student for their excellent academic performance and demonstrated passion for periodontology during their dental school years.
 This award is designed to recognize a talented dental student who has demonstrated excellent clinical skills and a passion for periodontology. Selected recipients will receive $1,000 and an award plaque.
Criteria: The Sam Jasper Periodontal Award is open to:

  • Professional dental school students, in their third- or fouth-year; 
  • A student who has demonstrated excellent academic and clinical performance in the area of periodontology; and
  • Someone who has demonstrated passion and commitment to a career in periodontology.

Application: The application package should include:

  • A letter of support from the applicant’s research supervisor or clinical mentor;
  • Apersonal statement, indicating why the candidate should be considered for the award (not more than one page); and
  • The candidate’s CV (not more than five pages).

Deadline: Applications to be submitted as a PDF by December 18, 2020 to: Dana Satterly,
Evaluation: Applicants will be evaluated by the Division of Periodontology Award Committee consisting of faculty from the periodontal division and the department chair.
Selection: Selection of the successful candidate will be made by the committee as described above. The committee's decision will be made prior to the senior banquet, and the recipient will be formally announced by the Division of Periodontology representative at the senior banquet.
Sponsorship: The award is supported by the Division of Periodontology.

Mohanad Al-Sabbagh
Division Chief, Periodontology

Dana Satterly
Administrative Research Assistant
College of Dentistry Center for Oral Health Research


Make a Gift Your gifts help support the academic, research and patient care missions of the UK College of Dentistry. Make a gift now.